Single Of The Week: Elektra by Refused

Posted: April 27, 2015 in Single Of The Week
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

87370_RefusedWhat happens to a band that releases an album that garners a boat load of critical acclaim? Well, they break up soon after the release of the record only to reunite 17 years later to release more music for all the world to hear. Swedish Hardcore band Refused released their first album The Shape of Punk to Come back in 1998 and they completely shattered the stereotypes and opened doors for other punk bands to accomplish the unthinkable. Well, now fast forward 17 years into the future and the band has a brand new disc called Freedom that they are releasing on June 30TH via Epitaph and it kicks ass. Frontman Dennis Lyxzén had this to say about the situation, “It’s not a reunion anymore. This is one of the most radical things we’ve ever done, both musically and lyrically.” David Sandström adds to the conversation saying, “Nobody wanted us to f— with the image of the band who makes a great album and splits up. Nobody wanted us to dilute it. That actually provoked us.” The song itself has a hard rocking sound to it that reminds me of the Foo Fighters a little bit as far as vocals were concerned and I love it. According to, “Fans who pre-order Freedom can grab a limited edition exclusive CD package that includes a 28-page hardbound book, exclusive artwork with gold foil stamping and a double-sided poster.” Check out the track below and check out the track listing below that.

Freedome by Refused Track Listing: 

1. Elektra
2. Old Friends / New War
3. Dawkins Christ
4. Françafrique
5. Thought Is Blood
6. War On The Palaces
7. Destroy The Man
8. 366
9. Servants Of Death
10. Useless Europeans

  1. […] on the album as they unveiled the singles Françafrique (article here) and Elektra (article here) for all the world to hear and we covered them for our singles of thew week. Now the band has […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s