Axl Vs SlashOne of the biggest bands to ever hit the scene in the mid to late 1980’s was the band Guns N Roses who were also the most dangerous band in the world. They were a band that everyone has stated from time to time including myself that they could have been the next Led Zeppelin, but something went terribly wrong in 1996. In fact, that was the last time anybody in the world would ever see Slash and Axl on the same stage together three years after the recording of The Spaghetti Incident. In fact, here is what Slash said about a certain moment in 1996 to Piers Morgan, “It wasn’t even me necessarily leaving the band, it was not continuing on with the new band that Axl put together that he was now at the helm of, which was the new Guns N’ Roses. I was given a contract to basically join his new band, and it took about 24 hours before I decided, I think this is the end of the line.” At one point Axl claimed that his bandmates were a “cancer…better removed, avoided, and the less anyone heard of him or his supporters, the better.” He also claimed that Slash and Duff McKagan did, “damage to my ability as a writer. At the time of the [Use Your Illusion] tours, Slash and Duff said, ‘You’re an idiot, you’re a loser.’ I didn’t write for years. I felt I was hindered for a very long time.” There have been so many claims as to who said what and who did what that it’s hard to keep track of all of it. At one point, the band’s ex-manager pinned it on Slash playing with Michael Jackson. Doug Goldstein claims in an interview with Rolling Stone Brazil, “In 1991, we were on the road, and Slash went to my office and said ‘I’ll be leaving tomorrow to play with Michael Jackson on a tribute concert. I told him not to do it because Axl was molested by his father when he was 2, and he believed the charges against Michael Jackson.”

download (2)Slash at one point does claim that the media has a bigger deal of the break up then what actually happened. He says, “because there was so much attention on the breakup. it got built up into this monster that led to a kind of animosity that wasn’t the focus for me. Neither one of us wants to be down each other’s throats for no reason. At this point, I’m trying to put it to rest. So I try to avoid the subject.” He has gone on to claim things in his autobiography that he wrote like one reason being the fact that both Steven and Izzy were not in the band. Another reason had to do with his many stage antics that Axl became notorious for like walking off the stage because someone was taking pictures. The other reason being the fact that Axl claimed full ownership of the name. He goes on to also describe the Sympathy Of The Devil incident in which Axl had Paul Huge play over Slash’s part. Paul Huge was a member of Hollywood Rose which was the band before Guns N Roses and he replaced Gilby Clarke in Guns N Roses. Slash said, “When I got a DAT of the song with Axl’s vocals on it, I noticed that there was another guitar layered on top of mine in the solo. Axl had gotten Paul Huge to double over me. In other words, that guy copied what I was playing on another track and they layered them. It was like really bad plagiarism.”

hqdefaultIn an interview with the USA Today back in 2012, Axl made some more claims about their abuse of him and his abilities like the quote above, “To those three, it was all crap. It beat me down so much. At the time of the [‘Use Your Illusion’] tours, Slash and Duff said, ‘You’re an idiot, you’re a loser.’ I didn’t write for years. I felt I was hindered for a very long time. I was also trying to figure out what I wanted to say, when it’s right to be venting and when you’re digging a bigger hole. Lyrics on ‘Chinese’ took a long time.” He also describes what could have kept the original Appetite lineup intact for longer, “Maybe if we could have worked together in the way ‘Appetite’ was put together. I was really naïve. I thought the success of that record would bring everyone together more. It did the exact opposite. They got success and wanted to run in their own directions. I thought they’d go, ‘Whoa, it did work.’ But they wanted to do their own huge bigger success off of Guns.” Finally when asked that certain question they always get asked he says, “I feel that ball’s not in my court. I’m surviving this war, not the one who created this war.” The feud got so bad that MTV did a version of Axl vs Slash on Celebrity Deathmatch which you can check out here.

axl_rose_and_slash_reunion_guns_n_rosesThere has been some talk however of some of the guys since then that have made it seem like a possibility that the original lineup will indeed reunite. Duff has stated in an interview with WIND-FM, “It could happen, and it could not. And I think it would be wonderful, one day, if we reconciled, first and foremost. That alone would be cool. I think every band is different, for sure. With our band, it was a lot of things. We just got really big. Once we started getting big, we got really big really fast. And there’s no ‘how-to’ instructional manual for that thing, what happens to your life. We just fall into every kind of stupid typical thing that we thought we’d never fall into.” Slash also had something to say on CBS This Morning saying, “Never say never. I got to be careful what I say there, I mean, if everybody wanted to do it and do it for the right reasons, I think the fans would love it. I think it might be fun at some point to try and do that.” I know that these are prototypical answers just to appease the media, but one can only imagine the what if. What if the original lineup did reunite and then reality hits that it hasn’t happened yet. Look to the picture to the left of this paragraph which is an updated photo of the both of them today and someone photoshopped them together in a pic. That would be a truly great sight for all of us to see once again someday. The jury rules that the real losers of this case are us the fans because we are the ones losing out.

Leave a Reply

