Tuesday Stand Up: Jen Kirkman: I’m Gonna Die Alone (And I Feel Fine) (2015)

Posted: May 26, 2015 in Stand Up Special Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

jen kirkmanI always had a mission of checking out new stand up comedians anytime I see one that I have never seen before hence the reason I started Tuesday Stand Up. You don’t always know what you are going to get with every comedian, but you check them out anyways. So, when you have a Netflix account, it shows you what s trending and that is when I came across Jen Kirkman and her new comedy special called Jen Kirkman: I’m Going To Die Alone (And I Feel Fine) which is by the way a Netflix special. Jen for those of you that don’t know is a regular on the round table of Chelsea Lately and she does the Drunk History segment on Funny Or Die and she is from Needham, MA. In this special, she talks about everything from being bad at marriage, divorce, living alone, stupid people in the world, global warming, stupid situations, the disadvantages of turning 40, and other stories that Jen has for all of your enjoyment.

jenI have to say that Jen has a unique brand of comedy that isn’t suitable for everyone in the world because she talks about things that certain groups will get. She is definitely a very good storyteller, but I don’t feel that her brand of comedy is necessarily for me. I wasn’t really blown away by her comedy or in the way she was delivering, but again I think she appeals to a certain crowd. I have laughed hysterically at comedians like Bill Burr, Nick Offerman, Jim Norton because they connect with me on a personal level saying stuff that I can connect with. I have never been married or over 40 so I can’t connect with that. She has been getting great reviews online from various sites all over the internet so you can take it from them or me, its your choice. I am however proud to be a fellow Masshole like Jen which I found to be pretty cool. The special is available on Netflix as it is after all a Netflix Stand Up special so check it out. I am going to give the special an B- for a final grade.

Leave a Reply

