Cover Of The Week: You Spin Me Round (Like A Record) by Dope

Posted: June 14, 2015 in Cover Of The Week
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

When I was in college and I was doing my radio shows, I would have an all covers day where I played nothing but the big bands doing cover songs for one show a semester. It was a lot of fun to do and one of the songs that I always played on the show was Dope’s cover of the Dead Or Alive track You Spin Me Round (Like A Record). I wasn’t a huge fan of the original version released by Dead Or Alive, but when I heard this track on The American Psycho soundtrack, I was instantly hooked and could not believe how amazing it sounded with a heavier sound. That is why I chose it for this week’s Cover Of The Week. Edsel Dopes vocals were absolutely perfect for the song as he interpreted the track in his way and the band absolutely made the track their own. That is essentially the whole point of covering a song and including it in your own album (as it appeared in the re-released version of Felons And Revolutionaries). The band did good with the track as it became their first song to chart on Billboards Hot Mainstream Rock Tracks at number 37. Check out the song below:

Leave a Reply

