king vs victoryThis is actually an update to an article I published not too long ago that I called When Metal Bands Fight: Kerry King Vs Kevin Lyman and I say update because some of the bands have now fired shots back at Kerry King. You may remember that Kerry had this to say about the tour, “Do I know this tour wasn’t booked correctly? Absolutely I know this tour wasn’t booked correctly. Gary Holt made the comment that usually there’s the Main Stage, a second stage, a third stage, and then that piece of s–t record stage…now what they’re calling a second stage is at best a fourth stage and they’re wondering why people aren’t showing up.” He is obviously referring to the Victory Records stage which is the record stage and some of the bands on that stage like Jungle Rot, Kissing Candice, and Sister Sin are firing back. Jungle Rot vocalist Dave Matrise had this to say about King’s remarks, “I’m gonna be truthful — I take it very personal. I’m a longtime Slayer fan, and I hate to say it, but now I’m gonna change my thoughts about Slayer over this. It’s because of the simple fact that there’s a lot of people, including myself, and a lot of bands here that have a lot of money invested in this tour and we’re trying to make our money back, and we’re trying to keep this thing rolling. And here’s this guy, and he opens his mouth and sabotages the tour, in my opinion. And then he talks s–t about Victory and that’s our label as well, and calls it a ‘s–t stage.’ Well, if it wasn’t for Victory probably getting this stage, this tour would’ve never happened.” He goes on to say that the bands are sticking together no matter what King has said in the past, that they’ll try to finish the tour on a high note, and he adds, “It just don’t make sense to me. He could’ve waited until he was done after the tour to open his mouth. It would’ve been much better. No one would’ve cared then.”

5539ACA3-kissing-candice-ugly-gross-bloody-debut-album-due-in-june-imageKissing Candice got in on the conversation as guitarist Tommy Sciro added, “I definitely think it’s bad for the metal genre, in general. Everybody should be sticking together and supporting it. If you wanna keep carrying the torch, you can’t keep talking down to some of the up-and-coming bands. I understand he’s kind of cemented himself in history, but that doesn’t help anything for anybody, not even his own band. That just gives his own band a bad name. No one on the Victory Stage is too thrilled with this.” Vocalist Joey Simpson adds, “Who’s he to call us that? He started out one day too, driving around in a van. And there are some buses on the second stage, but most of us are in vans, man. We’re eating s–t, literally. Just because we’re in a band, it doesn’t mean we’re getting rich. We’re just trying to make a name and he’s just slandering it and the Victory Records name.” Bassist Mike Grippo makes a good point saying, “If he didn’t like the lineup, then he didn’t have to play Mayhem Fest this year. No one held a gun to his head, I’m sure.”

sister-sin-hotSister Sin vocalist Liv Jagrell stated, “I think it’s disrespectful, to say the least, while the tour is still going on. I mean he can have his opinion, but he could have waited until after the tour. And then, of course, it’s our label he’s talking shit about. I don’t think that’s a good thing to say things about other labels and bands. So yeah, I’m not so very fond of him right now.” I want to play devil’s advocate for a bit here because I can understand where both sides are coming from as far as this argument is concerned. I agree that the tour could have been booked a little bit better because there are a lot more acts I would have loved to see on this tour, but at the same time you can’t insult the bands that you are touring with. So, i don’t blame Jungle Rot, Sister Sin, and Kissing Candice for coming out and standing up for themselves because they have a lot to prove on the rest of this tour. Now, did King’s comments hurt the attendance of the tour? I don’t think so because the attendance was already lacking before he even made the comments, but it may hurt it for the rest of the tour. That remains to be seen if that was the cause. You decide on who is wrong and who is right and I am sure that if Kerry King responds, I will have it here for all of you.

Leave a Reply

