rowdy-roddy-piper-i-change-the-questionsWhether you a wrestling fan or not, yesterday the world lost a true icon of the sports entertainment field when Roderick George Toombs a.k.a Rowdy Roddy Piper at the age of 61 due to cardiac arrest. Rowdy Roddy Piper best known as Hot Rod as well was an innovator in the field of wrestling playing what I always believed as the perfect heel (bad guy) in what was known as the WWF at the time (WWE now). One of the most iconic moments that I can remember was the time he cracked a coconut over the head of “Superfly” Jimmy Snuka during a segment of Piper’s Pit. I also remember the time he sprayed talk show big mouth Morton Downey Jr. with a fire extinguisher at WrestleMania V. Hot Rod also had the balls to get into the face of big time actor Mr. T on more than one occasion for the first two WrestleManias. There was a saying the sports entertainment world that if it wasn’t the for The Four Horseman, there would have been no NWO or no DX, but it if it wasn’t for Hot Rod and his Piper’s Pit, there would definitely be no Highlight Reel, Barbershop, and any other talk segment in the WWE period. He was politically incorrect and unapologetic which made him a true bad ass. One of the other things I enjoyed about Hot Rod was some of the movies that he starred in like the iconic John Carpenter film They Live where Roddy battled aliens disguised as humans or the film Body Slam where he played a wrestler named Quick Rick Roberts. It was one of my favorite movies when I was a kid growing up a wrestling fan. I will forever miss Rowdy Roddy Piper, a man that provided so many amazing memories for me in my childhood when all I had was wrestling. R.I.P. Rowdy Roddy Piper 1954-2015

roddy

Comments

Leave a Reply

