Richrath-630x420Whether you loved them or you hated them, you definitely respected them I had love for arena rockers REO Speedwagon and so I’m saddened to announced that former REO Speedwagon guitarist Gary Richrath has passed away at the age of 65. Fans were treated to the news via Speedwagon’s Facebook page as Kevin Cronin posted his thoughts saying, I feel so sad. Gary was both a unique guitarist and songwriter, and the embodiment of the tough guy with a heart of gold. I learned most of what I know about being in a rock band from Gary Richrath. The entire REO Family mourns his death and shares in the grief of his family, friends, and fans. These words do not come close to expressing the depth of emotions I am feeling at this time.” Gary was an integral part of the band’s unique sound and was with the band right up until 1989 where he left and released one solo record (On The Strong Survive). I’ll never forget the first time I heard Ridin’ The Storm Out which is one of the most amazing rock songs from that time and era. The song still kicks ass to this day. Not to mention, he obviously scored some major hits with the band on tracks like Take It On The Run, Can’t Fight This Feeling, Keep On Loving You, Time For Me To Fly, and so many more. He will be missed, R.I.P. Gary Richrath (1949-2015)

Leave a Reply

