nightbreedSince I met Doug Bradley (Hellraiser) at this Rock And Shock Horror Convention, I wanted to include one of his films in this years Eddie’s 31 Days Of Halloween. By 1990, Doug Bradley had already done Hellraiser 1 and 2 with Clive Barker so it was only natural the childhood friends would work again for the film Nightbreed. This horror/fantasy film stars Craig Sheffer (A River Runs Through It) as Aaron Boone, a troubled young man who dreams of a world where monsters belong called Midian. Right before his untimely death, he discovers that Midian is a real place and unbeknownst to him, his doctor (David Cronenberg) is manipulating him in order to lead him to Midian for his own selfish greed. Boone will have to save Midian from the evil of mankind or the sacred place will perish. The film also stars Anne Bobby (Born On The Fourth Of July) as Lori, Charles Haid (Hill Street Blues) as Captain Eigerman, Hugh Quarshie (Star Wars: Episode 1- The Phantom Menace) as Detective Joyce, Hugh Ross (Trainspotting) as Narcisse, Catherine Chevalier (Hellbound: Hellraiser II) as Rachel, Oliver Parker (Hellraiser) as Peloquin, Malcolm Smith (Masters Of Menace) as Ashberry, and Bob Sessions (Hackers) as Pettine.

nightbreed 2One thing is definitely for sure and that is that Clive Barker has one creative mind when it comes to hell, monsters, and other dark things. I love all the different elements that he adds to the film like actually having a serial killer to go along with the fantasy part because it keeps it from being boring. The visual effects in Clive Barker films are always the things that stand out when it comes to his films and this is definitely one that is filled with it. The makeup department is always top notch as well so expect to be visually intrigued by the film like I was. The acting in the film was also very good and the story was good too. I have to say that David Cronenberg did a good job in making me hate his character so much. Believe me, after seeing his actions in the film, you will grow to detest him just as much as I did, but probably not as fast as I did. While some of you may disagree with me on this one, but I wasn’t a big fan of his acting. Although when put the mask on, I thought he was a lot better on screen. Hugh Ross was great in this film as well as Doug Bradley who I didn’t even recognize until I looked up who it was he played in the film. I definitely think this is a film you should check out especially if you are a Clive Barker fan which is why I am giving the film an B+ for a final grade.

Leave a Reply

