rock and shockThis past weekend in Worcester, MA, the 12TH Annual Rock And Shock Horror convention took over both the Palladium and The DCU Center for three nights of horror and music. The music side that took place at the Palladium featured three days worth of shows that featured Soulfly on Friday, Danzig & Superjoint on Saturday, and Twiztid on Sunday. The horror convention side which took place at The DCU Center featured the likes of Doug Bradley, Samantha Mathis, Tobin Bell, Robert Allen Mukes, Derek Mears, William Forsythe, Erika Ervin, Naomi Grossman, Bill Moseley, and so many more. Not only were there special guests, but there were plenty of vendors as well from all over like the Troma, Vinegar Syndrome, Bar Accessories INC., Bad Moon Consignment, Famous Monsters Of Filmland, Hellcat Press, Prince Of Pieces, Rhode Island Comic Con, Scares That Care, and so many more.

me and adam greenOut of all the 12 years that this convention has existed, this was my very first time eve attending one of these and I have no idea why. There is so much to do in one of these that you can forget the time and not even care because you are having so much fun. The overall attitude of the event is nothing, but of a fun nature because for horror fans like me this is heaven on earth. One of the first things I did when I got inside the convention was I needed to find where al of the legends were sitting and I found them with ease. The first person I met in the whole show is one of Hollywood’s most underrated actor of all time in Bill Moseley. Bill Moseley was arguably the star of The Devil’s Rejects, House Of 1000 Corpses, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre II, and so many more. He was such a such a cool guy that I wish there were more like him at these conventions. The next person I met was Bill Johnson who played Leatherface in The Texas Chainsaw Massacre II. After him I made a b-line all the way to Tobin Bell who was famous for playing Jigsaw in the Saw franchise. Tobin was very excited to tell me about his newest project the Manson Family Vacation which is a different take on the famous story. The film is out on iTunes right now and on Netflix I believe by October 27TH. The rest of the day included me meeting the legend George A. Romero, Adam Green, Doug Bradley, and a very good conversation with Michael Reid Mackay (The Monster Squad, Insidious: Chapter 3). One of the cool things that I also witnessed on Sunday was a press conference for Twiztid and that was pretty interesting. The one thing I can say about the group is that they care tremendously for their fans. As I said before, I regret not going to any other Rock And Shock in my life before and I suggest that every horror fan go to an event like this one.

Leave a Reply

