comiccon_nov2015_eventimage_600x280-copyWhen I had heard that the Rhode Island Comic Con was returning for another year, I was super excited just to see who was going to be there as far as guests. I was immediately excited to see that Jon Bernthal, Jason Momoa, Ralph Macchio, Ron Pearlman, Michael Rooker, Doug Jones, Karen Gillan, the Million Dollar Man Ted DiBiase, The Honky Tonk Man, “X-Pac” Sean Waltman, Amy Jo Johnson, and so many more were going to be there. I had all the people I wanted to meet and all the things I wanted to get signed all ready to go, but as you know things change and I forget things sometimes. Nevertheless along with some friends, I made my way to the convention at both The Dunkin Donuts Center and The Rhode Island Convention Center in Providence, Rhode Island. I think it would be wise to let all of you know that this was the very first time that I had ever attended the Rhode Island Comic Con so I had no idea what to expect from this one.

me and iron manThe first impression that I received when I arrived was that they had things under control even though the lines walking into the building were very long and it came as no surprise considering it was a Saturday. The first person that I got to meet at the event was Jon Bernthal who everyone knows is going to star in the new season of Daredevil as The Punisher. Jon was very nice and courtesy to everyone who came and spent money to get his autograph. I do have to admit that some of the prices to meet some of the stars was a little too pricey for my liking as most didn’t include a picture like it did at The Rock And Shock Convention in Worcester. I then proceeded to go the actual Convention Center side where everyone was an I immediately found where Karen Gillan who stars in Doctor Who, but I loved her in Guardians Of The Galaxy as Nebula was going to sign. I started to wait in line at 12PM and by 2:30, she had had never showed as she decided to take a lunch break after her photo Op session went a little too long. I was so angry because I had my Funko Pop Nebula figure all ready to be signed, but I was hungry and tired from standing in line that I received a refund and left. I was so agitated at this that I had to step outside for a breath of fresh air before I went back in.

me and tedIt was a good thing I went outside for that air because as soon as I returned, I had fun meeting Demolition, the greatest WWF/E tag team of all time and still my favorite tag team of all time. I bumped in to Ciara Price who I had interviewed on my college radio show Pedal To The Metal (check it out here) and she is just as beautiful and sweet in person as she was on the phone. The next person that I met that day was the Million Dollar Man Ted DiBiase who was super cool which is all you can ask for when you are at these events. The Honky Tonk Man was also very cool as I told him he was the greatest Intercontinental Champion of all time to which he agreed. Sean Waltman was also very cool and Henry Winkler seemed very nice to his fans, but I didn’t stay to meet him. After that I was all set meeting who I wanted to meet and I proceeded to leave. The one thing that I will say is that some of the people seemed like they didn’t want to be there while others did and that is a natural thing I guess. Unfortunately, Carrie Fisher canceled her appearance to the Comic Con for personal reasons I believe, but she promised to be there next year. One person that didn’t seem to want to be there was Lori Petty who some of you may remember from Tank Girl or Point Break (and maybe even In The Army Now). Her attitude didn’t bother me or ruin my experience there. The security and staff of the convention center could have done a better job with their policies, but it was a good time overall.

me and demolition

Leave a Reply

