Cover Of The Week: Changes by Charles Bradley

Posted: December 21, 2015 in Cover Of The Week
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have all sorts of covers of Back Sabbath songs from hard core bands like Biohazard, horror metal like White Zombie, to Primus, Black Label Society, and everything else in between. I will admit though that I have never heard a soul cover of a Black Sabbath song till I heard one from soul singer Charles Bradley. Charles recently did a cover of the classic Black Sabbath song Changes which was off of the band’s album Volume 4. The song was originally released as a special cover for Record Store Day- Black Friday 2013 on vinyl. During the track, he figuratively pours his heart and soul into the track as it holds a special place in his heart. The singers mother had passed away and the song brings him to a special place where he thinks of her. Bradley comments, “I think about the lyrics very closely when I sing ‘Changes’ and get emotional. It makes me think of my mother and the changes in my life since she passed away.” Charles is going to be releasing an album in April and Changes will serve as the title track for the record. Check it out and support Charles Bradley cause Changes is one of my favorite songs too.

 

Leave a Reply

