Tuesday Stand Up: Mike Epps: Don’t Take It Personal (2015)

Posted: December 22, 2015 in Stand Up Special Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

mike eppsFor this week’s Tuesday Stand Up, I tried to check out as many comedy specials from 2015 as I possibly could. Last week, I was shown by Netflix that there was another new comedy special that I hadn’t checked out and it was from Mike Epps. Some of you may remember him as Ice Cube’s cousin in Next Friday or as the drug dealer Doug in The Hangover and The Hangover III. I chose to watch his new special Mike Epps: Don’t Take It Personal cause I never thought of him as a stand up comedian so I was intrigued. Recorded at the historic The Orpheum Theater in Los Angeles, Mike Epps tackles everything from fat bitches, differences in disciplining kids, borrowing money, young girls vs older woman, groupies, drugs and drug dealers, sugar daddies, not liking your moms boyfriends, Barrack Obama, Food stamps, jail, Islam, school, pimp in a wheelchair, old men fighting, strip clubs, Bill Cosby, and so much more in this one hour special.

mike epps 2.pngThis was an interesting special because it was a very hit or miss special for me. What I mean by that is that it was either funny or not really that funny at times. Mike Epps would make a great emcee and he knows how to pump up the crowd, but he does a little too much of it throughout the show. There were times during the show where he was very funny and then other times when it was just bland and it seemed like he was just rambling on. Some of the funniest stuff he talked about were the non sexual jokes like the one about how old men fight. One thing I did notice is that when he was imitating old people, his impressions reminded me a lot of John Witherspoon (who of course starred in Friday and Next Friday) especially with the lip movements. One of my favorite jokes was the examples of getting pulled over by a police officer and his joke on Stevie Wonder which was apart of something when he was talking about people getting mad at him for including them in his jokes. The special is half bad and if you like Mike Epps then check it out for yourself. After all, you may end up enjoying it more than me. I am giving the special an B- for a final grade.

Leave a Reply

