A post on my new blog 365moviesin365dayschallenge.wordpress.com inspired me to do this Eddie’s Top 5 list. You should definitely check out that blog as I am trying to watch 365 movies in 365 days. Anyways, the film High Fidelity inspired me to write this next piece as I explore my top 5 actors from the 1980’s (males of course with female to follow soon). Who will make the cut? This was a tough list to make as I had to go through and remember why I enjoyed watch films from these actors in the first place. Check it out below:

5. River Phoenix– This is one of the saddest stories of that 80’s generations because this guy could have been huge. While I enjoyed Little Nikita, A Night In The Life Of Jimmy Reardon, it was Stand By Me that will forever be embedded in my soul. One of my all time favorite films and actor with so much potential.

4. Patrick Swayze– If you were not a fan of his work like Red Dawn, The Outsiders, Roadhouse, etc. then you have no soul or appreciation for the 80’s. He was a little bit older than the rest of them, but a true actor.

3. Michael J. FoxBack To The Future 1 & 2, Teen Wolf, and Class Of 1984 are some of my favorite films. It’s unfortunate what happened to Michael later on his life, but he did star in one of the greatest time travel movies ever.

2. Tom Cruise– You had to know that one of the all time greatest from the 80’s (before he was deemed weird) was going to be on this list. Let’s see, The Outsiders, Risky Business, Top Gun, Rain Man, Legend, The Color Of Money, Cocktail, do I really need to go on?

1.Johnny Depp– This is another one that should have been a no brainer because this may be one of the all time greats from the 80’s who still arguably produces. From his humble debut in A Nightmare On Elm Street and through Private Resort, Platoon, and whatever else he has put out in this world is just off the charts. Now the dude is a musician who plays with the likes of Marilyn Manson, Joe Perry, Alice Cooper, and so many more.

Honorable Mention: John Cusack, Sean Penn, Patric Dempsey, Kevin Bacon, Corey Haim, and Corey Feldman.

Leave a Reply

