There are those rare occasions in cinematic history where the soundtrack is almost 100% better than the films. What I have for you for today’s Soundtrack Saturday tracks is one of those rare occasions. In 1997, Warner Brothers Pictures released the atrocious film Batman & Robin which starred George Clooney as Batman, Chris O’Donnell as Robin, Arnold Schwarzenegger as Mr. Freeze, Uma Thurman as Poison Ivy, and Alicia Silverstone as Batgirl. It was one of the worst movies that I had ever seen and all of Arnold’s lines are just stupid. The one thing that was sort of a saving grace for the film was the film’s diverse soundtrack which featured tracks from R. Kelly, Bone Thugs-n-Harmony, Soul Coughing, R.E.M., and today’s featured band The Smashing Pumpkins. The Smashing Pumpkins provided two tracks for the soundtrack with today’s track being The End Is The Beginning Is The End (the other track is The Beginning Is The End Is The Beginning). Billy Corgan said this about the track, “At one point I found myself going, “I can’t write a song about Batman, I’m in an alternative band.” And I thought this is stupid, if I can write a song about Batman and it serves the purpose, which is to make it happen and connect with the movie, and connect with something that is unique and original, then, why not? For me, it was a great kind of artistic thing to do because it was very freeing. I wasn’t talking about myself or trying to represent the Smashing Pumpkins. I was trying to represent Batman.” He later explains that his Batman that he envisioned when writing the track was the darker version of Batman that appeared in the 1940’s. Check out the track below:

Leave a Reply

