Single Of The Week: Cat People by Shooter Jennings and Marilyn Manson

Posted: February 19, 2016 in Single Of The Week
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

What I have here could be a cover of the week, but it’s such an odd collaboration that I just couldn’t resist having it as the single of the week. What do you get when you combine Shooter Jennings, Marilyn Manson, and David Bowie? One heck of a cover song that is and that is exactly what Jennings and Manson recorded. Shooter is gearing up to release a new album Countach (For Giorgio) which was inspired by Giorgio Moroder, the famous soundtrack composer. Shooter and Manson decided to cover the Moroder/Bowie collaboration Cat People and here is how it came about according to Jennings, “I invited him out to a party at this bar, and I said, ‘Hey, you know ‘Cat People’? You want to do that song on this record, ’cause you’d sound awesome doing it.’ And he was like, ‘I sing that song every night before I go onstage. That’s my song I warm up to.’ So one night I went over to his house at three in the morning and brought all my recording gear.” He explains how masterful Manson was saying, “What’s awesome about Manson is all the people I’ve worked with who are singers always overanalyze their performance and want to recut s–t or use a different take. He’s none of that. His house is cavernous and looks like a bordello and it was his voice echoing through the house. It was pretty intense.” Check out the track below and be on the lookout for Shooter’s record which is out on Vinyl on Feruary 26TH and digital March 11TH.

Leave a Reply

