ScourBandYou are probably wondering just who in the world is Scour and why do I have them as the single of the week this week. Scour is a new supergroup of sorts from troubled former Pantera/current Down singer Phil Anselmo. The band also features John Jarvis (Pig Destroyer) on Bass, Chase Fraser (Animosity, Continuum) on Guitar, Derek Engemann (Cattle Decapitation) on Guitar and Jesse Schobel (Strong Intention) on Drums. The best way to describe the band can only be answered by one man and that is Phil himself, “The Scour thing was something that just popped up, and it’s something that I think I can kill, something I can lay it out. They’re short songs. It’s a short EP, and that’s something I can knock out… I think (there’s) one of the fellows from Cattle Decapitation, but it’s predominantly, in my ear, modern-ish black metal-sounding, thrashy black metal type stuff. I’m going to put my own spin on it. I don’t have to sound like your boy from Gorgoroth [laughing] to get the point across, man. There’s other ways of singing over that style of music, and I shall employ many styles.” That is essentially why I chose it for the single of the week. Check it out below:

Leave a Reply

