First of all I just want to say that bands are being very creative these days when it comes to naming their side projects. So, I also want to say that I absolutely love the name of this side project called Giraffe Tongue Orchestra which is made up of Alice In Chains vocalist William DuVall, Ben Weinman (Dillinger Escape Plan), Brent Hinds (Mastodon), Pete Griffin (Dethklok), and Thomas Prigden (Mars Volta). The band’s debut album Broken Lines is due to come out September 23RD. The band for the time being has unleashed the single Blood Moon for all to hear and it’s interesting to say the least. To be perfectly honest, I would call the music dance rock cause that is the vibe that it has in my opinion. Hinds talks about the origin of the band;s name saying, “During the time Mastodon was there for Soundwave, I was at the zoo in Sydney, Australia and was checking out the giraffes. [Giraffes] are amazing animals – one just grabbed a bunch of bananas from my hand with its tongue and peeled them with it as well – by the time the bananas got to its mouth, they were ready to be eaten.  I saw Ben and said ‘Man I think I found the name for our band.”

Leave a Reply

