Tuesday Stand Up: Iliza Shlesinger: Confirmed Kills (2016)

Posted: November 22, 2016 in Stand Up Special Review
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

confirmed-killsIt has been quite some time since the last time we visited Tuesday Stand Up and to be honest I didn’t have time for it with all the projects I have going on. I wanted to bring it back and I figured I would start with a comedian that I love in Iliza Shlesinger (Freezing Hot/War Paint). Iliza returned this year with her third stand up special withe Netflix (who produces amazing stand up specials) in Iliza Shlesinger: Confirmed Kills which she recorded at The Vic Theater in Chicago. In the special, Iliza tackles all sorts of interesting topics that range from the ever growing battle between Men and Women, the importance of lip liner, being drunk, sexual harassment, the ever expanding trials and tribulations of shopping, weight, mermaids, millennials, hashtags, what to do after sex, and why Shark Tank needs to be a live reality show just to name a few.

ilizaI have to be honest that while I am a huge fan of Iliza Shlesinger, I wasn’t as impressed with her on this one like I have been in the past with her other specials. There are some funny moments in this one like the Shark Tank segment or her whole bit on sexual relations with men and the rules of after sex. It’s just that there were too many moments where she did sound preachy and I get it. 2016 was the year of the feminist revolution so it was a hot topic (which is all I am saying), but she’s a hit with the ladies on that one. I get it, you have to connect with your audience and she finds ways to do it. I am still a huge fan of hers and I enjoyed the special. She finally puts that stupid Mermaid crap to rest and she tells us like it is as far as that topic is concerned. All of her amazing quirks are present in the special like the goat call or the party goblin (favorite of mine) which is why we love her in the first place. She does however make some great points when she speaks about harassment because a lot of guys will judge women for how they dress or if a woman reacts in a way they do approve of they get angry. So, I do get that argument and she makes an even better point that they disapprove when it’s an ugly guy making the comments. Her special of course is available on Netflix and you should check it out. I am going to give the special an B+ for a final grade.

Leave a Reply

