2017-headerFirst of all I want to start this paragraph by sending so much gratitude and appreciation to all of the bands that shared this page and the tournament. Without the bands, this tournament means absolutely nothing because if the fans can’t see it then they won’t show up. I’m writing this because I noticed that there is a lot of salty fans out there that are pissed off that their “band” didn’t win their match in this tournament. First of all, I created the tournament because it sounded like something that was fun to do and always has been since day one, but you always get the salty fans. I try my best to share the tournament on as many pages as I possibly can, but things are a lot different today then when I first started this tournament. I used to be able to share it on every page that there was, but now I need permission from the bands to be able to post it on their page. If I don’t get approval then there is no sharing on their page which can ultimately result in them being eliminated from a tournament by a band who did share it (For example, click here to go to Accept’s website or here to go to Queensryche’s Facebook Page).

iron maidenI used to allow people to vote as many times as they wanted, but I saw that it got really out of hand especially when fans of a band cried foul over it. So, I changed it to only being allowed to vote once every hour in a day and that seemed to satisfy fans for a long time now. Believe me I know it’s shocking when a band gets eliminated, but one year Death Angel defeated Metallica all due to the fact that their fans showed up and voted. Destruction and Kreator both won the championships solely off the fact that they shared every single round in the tournament every time I shared it with them. Believe me, I have 7 or 8 favorites of mine that have been eliminated already and I am completely fine with that because the fans decided the outcomes and that is all that matters. Here is to the unpredictability of the tournament, may it rock harder than salty tears. Here are the guidelines to making the tournament:

-The band must be active which means they have had to have released music in at least the last four years to the start of the tournament date and/or are actively touring. If a band retires or calls it quits before the start date of the tournament, then they are no longer eligible.

-If a band is eliminated in the first round of the tournament then they are no longer invited to the next years tournament (they have to wait a year). Some exceptions are made based on past tournament performances before that particular hiccup. There are only 32 spots in the tournament so we can’t include everyone, if we missed someone then we apologize. We have that rule and other rules in place to try and include new bands every year, but sometimes we might miss a few. We are listening to you and taking notes.

-While I would love the tournament to be based on merit solely, the tournament is all about a fan base reaching out and voting for the band they love. I can’t fault a fan base for showing up and voting.

-You are only allowed to vote once an hour so if you wait every hour in the day to vote then all the power to you. All matches are chosen at random as well as they are picked out of a hat so if a match seems odd to you then believe me it does to us as well.

– We are nothing if the bands do not share the page. That is as simple as it gets folks. We try to reach as many people as we possibly can, but we can’t reach everyone.

Comments

Leave a Reply

